A treasured moment

I read The 5 Love Languages, by Gary Chapman several years ago.  I reviewed it again recently; it offers insights into how we feel and express love.  The 5 languages include Acts of Service, Words of Affirmation, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time and Physical Touch.  All of the 5 languages are important, none is “better” than the other.  The key to any language is understanding it.

Irene award 2My primary language is “acts of service” followed by “words of affirmation”.  Those languages spoke to me directly as I was recognized by ICF Minnesota, the local chapter of the global organization, with the Gaston Award.  It was a very special honor.   The award, named after the founder of our chapter, Elaine Gaston, recognizes a member coach for distinguished service to the coaching profession and the chapter.

As I pondered remarks I wanted to share (I had 5 minutes at the mike), I realized more deliberately than ever before how acts of service language was modeled and nurtured in my formative years.  Don’t we learn language by example and modeling?  I’m certain I did!  Did I ever feel the love by the words of affirmation offered by my peers & colleagues!  There is little greater honor than to be recognized by peers and colleagues.  I treasure the beautiful crystal award, however, even more than that, I treasure the honor bestowed.

 Irene award 1


Add a Comment

Password Reset

Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

amazon asin=&text=